25 years later

Posted: January 28, 2011 in Uncategorized

Twenty-five years ago today, Christa McAuliffe, the first teacher ever commissioned to go to space, and seven other NASA crew members, died when the Space Shuttle Challenger exploded shortly after liftoff.  McAuliffe was a social studies teacher at Concord High School in Concord, N.H., not far from the town where I grew up.

While I was not yet alive when the incident occurred, I vividly remember my mother recounting her emotions as she witnessed the accident happen on live TV.  And I also remember my fourth grade teacher telling me what it was like to be in a classroom just 30 minutes from the school McAuliffe taught at, watching that scene unfold with a group of 9-year-olds.

The Concord Monitor, the main newspaper in New Hampshire’s capital, has some remembrance stories and first-hand accounts on what it was like to cover that story.  I highly encourage everyone who reads this to check it out.

Leave a Reply

